Two students awarded scholarships by the Ad Club.

The Buffalo Ad Club recently awarded two bright communication students scholarships. That’s right, our annual Don Nichols Scholarship competition has come and gone, and Juan Esguerra and Marissa Caggiano won us over, to say the least.

The competition is named in honor of Don Nichols, who founded the Albright Art School’s Graphic Design Department in 1950. He brought the program to UB, where he served as its head until his passing in 1987. He educated countless graphic designers, some of whom went on to national prominence. Nichols was awarded the Alex Osborn Award for Creativity from the Art Directors/Communicators of Buffalo, along with the Chancellor’s Award for Teaching from UB.


The Don Nichols Scholarship competition has been around for 15 years now, awarding promising communication students a little financial help with their education. This year, Juan Esguerra of Daemen College was awarded first place for his “No Futuro” poster. Marissa Caggiano of UB took home second place for her “Roots” poster. Congratulations to both and good luck to all students wishing to take part next year. And students, be sure to look for more information about our next Don Nichols Scholarship competition in the fall.