AAF Buffalo Special Awards

Each year AAF Buffalo recognizes deserving individuals and departments who have made an impact on Western New York’s advertising community through a handful of special awards. These awards are given out in conjunction with the American Advertising Awards.

Levy-Osborn Award for Excellence in Communications

This award was created to recognize outstanding achievement and service in the communications industry. Recipients of this award are individuals who, through a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field, have left an indelible mark on the Western New York creative community. Winners have a distinguished record of achievement over an extended period of time, which includes contributions to their company, the industry and the community.

This award is named in honor of two prominent figures in Buffalo advertising: longtime Buffalo ad executive David I. Levy and Alex Osborn, the inventor of brainstorming and manager of the Buffalo office of Barton, Durstine & Osborn (precursor to the global agency BBDO).

Joe Crowley Award for Service

In the spirit of one of Buffalo’s true giants in the industry, this award recognizes not only hard work, but also outstanding achievement in furthering the activities and interests of the club. Recipients have shown dedication, commitment and service to the club that went above and beyond the call of duty.

Future Star

This award honors an outstanding young professional in the marketing and advertising field who has demonstrated great potential in his or her early years in the industry. The recipient has five years or less experience in the marketing and advertising field (excluding internships or part-time employment while working on a degree) and has been an AAF Buffalo member for at least one year.